Finding Meaning In The Treasure Of The Past

Inspired by Viktor Frankl’s reflection on deeds done, loves loved, and sufferings faced with courage.

Ricky Derisz
8 min readMar 25, 2021
The heart’s treasure chest [Credit: Jouwen Wang on Unsplash]

Last weekend I set up an at-home retreat. I set the intention of perspective, clarity, and reflection on the past few months. The idea was to journal and meditate, but first I was overcome by a spontaneous and suddenly very important need to tidy my apartment.

At first I resisted. This wasn’t the work! In the end I gave in, which was for the best. I didn’t know tidying would present me with exactly what I was looking for, finding meaning in a box of old journals, gathering dust. As I scanned the pages nostalgia filled the room and my body fell still, as if stepping off a treadmill I didn’t realize I was running on.

The Journal of Life

That weekend I finished reading Viktor Frankl’s Man’s Search For Meaning. This article is largely inspired by his ideas and profound outlook on life, love, and suffering. This passage was fresh in my mind as I looked at my old journal:

“As soon as we have used an opportunity and have actualised a potential meaning, we have done so once and for all. We have reserved it into the past wherein it has been safely delivered and deposited. In the past, nothing is…

--

--

Ricky Derisz

Author. Podcast host. Creator of MindThatEgo.com. Free copy of my book Mindsets for Mindfulness 👉 https://bit.ly/2MnBlHp. It’s a bribe, but worth it.